• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Mildot in use

Private
Minuteman
Jun 5, 2023
Denmark
Ok coming from ar15 with T1 red dot only this is my first time with a mildot scope(christmas tree). I have been searching around for how to use the mildot system and in my search I just end up with a bunch of scattered informations.

So in an attempt to gather my info and put it down for practical use I divided up my search results in a chronological way. But I could need some help from guys in here to verify if I truly understand this miliradian system or if Im way off.

Pretending Im in the field here it goes..

Step 1, The back ground understanding

(Mil dot coverage @ a given distance)
Formula
Mil x Distance in m = mm Coverage @ Distance in m

Example
0.37 Mil x 351 m = 130 mm Coverage @ Distance in m

STEP 2, estimating range to target
Formula
Target in mm / Mil = Distance in m away

Example
4000mm / 7.3 mil = 548 m away

STEP 3 , mil hold for bullet frop @ distance
Formula
Bullet drop in mm / Distance in m = Mil hold

Example
2280 mm drop / 548 m = 4.16 Mil hold

The 2280 mm bullet drop @ 548 m is something I got from the back of a 308 ammo package.

All that CAN be done. I haven't seen anybody actually doing that ever honestly, but I may not run in those circles. The way I have seen most including myself use it is "My solver tells me 3.0 mils elevation at 500 yards so I'll either hold or dial that into my turrets. Same deal for wind"

There's quite a few rules of thumb that tend to work better in mils than MOA but that's beside the point.