• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

mixing brands of dies?

punter

Private
Minuteman
Mar 22, 2012
I am just getting into hand loading and I've got a question that I'm hoping you all can help me with...

I have been doing a lot of research into equipment and trying to learn the benefits of one brand's offering over another. At this point, I've got a pretty good idea of what will best suit my needs. So, I am getting ready to start buying my dies. What I would like to know is:

Is it all right to mix brands of dies for a given caliber, or do I need to maintain continuity?

For example, I will be hand loading for a .308 bolt action rifle... If my sizing die is Brand X, can my bullet seating die be Brand Y and my crimping die be Brand Z? ...or do the bullet seating die and crimping die need to be the same brand as the sizing die?

I can't help but to ask this question, because Brand X is going to shape to cartridges to a particular specification, which may or not be the same as Brand Y. Assuming Brand Y has very tight tolerances for it's bullet seating die, it makes me wonder if the casing may not "fit" properly since it was sized in another brand's sizing die. Or perhaps the crimping die may not work optimally for the same reason.

Am I off base? ...or are the specs close enough from brand to brand that this is not a concern?

Your insight is greatly appreciated.

Re: mixing brands of dies?

it is possible that the specs could conflict, but i think that chambers vary more then the dies. So if a die didnt work you could believe your chamber just as out of spec as the die your using. ( depends right?)