• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

MOA with Mosin Nagants?

So this thread got me interested in accurizing and otherwise improving an M44 I have. Truthfully I wanted somehow improve the looks first. Here it is disassembled.
View attachment 7538951
So I removed the orange laquer, sanded, and linseed oiled it but the wood was too hard to absorb the oil and was still butt ugly.
View attachment 7538903
So I painted it with rattle can cammo colors. I think it turned out ok.
View attachment 7538907View attachment 7538908View attachment 7538909
So a few months ago I started shooting it more and thought about how I could make it shoot better. I bought the accurizing kit from Smith including cork and brass shims and trigger spring. That helped exactly NOT AT ALL. Still shot 5-6moa.

Next step was to replace the trigger which was the worst I've ever felt. So I installed a Timney with safety lever. Pretty much had to butcher the stock to make room but dang thats a nice trigger!

The next step was adding a scout scope. Tried Leuppy but eye relief was too short so I went with the Vortex 2-7. At $150 I had zero expectation of tracking or repeatability but we will see. Here it is at the range.
View attachment 7538913
View attachment 7538914
Unfortunately it still shot like crap with spam can garbage ammo.
View attachment 7538916
So I ordered dies and 195gr bullets. Had some H4350 on hand and worked up a load but still 2.5 to 3 moa was best it would do. So tried 150gr Hornady and Varget. I know you guys are thinking, "Why waste unicorn tears on a Mosin?"

Anyway, with 44.7gr of Varget and 150 Hornady soft Point this little M44 shoots pretty dang good. 1 to 1.5in groups is typical. Man what a difference good ammo made!
View attachment 7538928