• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Norma Match going supersonic?

Hookturnr

Low Speed, High Drag
Minuteman
  • Jan 20, 2012
    Pittsburgh, PA ish..
    Anyone else had this happen to them? I was running through some practice today and had 10-15 rounds go supersonic and crap my accuracy..

I'm shooting Norma Match in a CZ 455 17 1/2" barrel with a Surefire Ryder ss. Still the factory varmint barrel just shortened and threaded for the can.
    Weather was as follows: 63 deg. 83% humidity 1200'ASL bar 30.2 falling varying tailwind of 5-15mph. on/off rain

I have been shooting this stuff for a couple years now and never had this happen until today. Any ideas?

Sorry I'm confused...
    What caliber? What velocity do you normally get and what is the "supersonic" velocities you're getting? (You said supersonic a couple times so I'm guessing these are supposed to be sub loads?)

22lr. I normally get 1075fps with this ammo and stay well below supersonic but there is no doubt when you get a supersonic crack while running a suppressed 22lr
    I wasn't shooting over a chronograph today but the rounds that had an audible crack also hit well off target, typically high

Last edited:
    Just to fill in everything I can think of about the day..I was shooting 50yds, 100yds, and 200yds intermittently and from various shooting positions.

This is my typical practice routine and I have never had this particular thing happen before...thus the reason i ask if anyone else has had this particular ammo go supersonic. It's irrelevant at short range but when you get out to 200-300 yds it absolutely destroys accuracy

So i figure a 6-7 % deviation could get you cracking?
    Evidently colder weather can help make that happen.