• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Potential Head Separation?

kyshootnman

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 3, 2012
Greensburg, KY
I have been loading for around 5 years, and this is the first time I've saw signs such as this on brass. I have had necks split in the past, but never saw this ring. The case grew about 0.005" below this ring and when I cut the case open, it does have an indention. My question is, does this appear to be a result of pressure, headspace, or what are the other culprits? This did not appear until I ran some 142 SMK's in my 260 at 42.9 H4350. I have been running 140 Amax at 42.8 with no issues. I measured the OAL with each bullet, and was 0.010" off the lands. The brass is Winchester 7mm-08 necked down. This was the third firing on this brass. Do the 142's really create this much more pressure? Thanks in advance.

33xg806.jpg

Combination of both, get a Wilson case gage, RCBS precision mic or other to measure the shoulder bump. I like the RCBS as it has the saami spec at zero.

Did your 140's have significant black soot at the necks post firing?

I do use a Wilson case gage, and there is some suit around the necks. I was necksizing these cases only, and the OAL of the brass was within spec.

What does the black soot mean around the case neck, been getting some but all I'm shooting is factory federal GMM ammo?

002-1.jpg

It happens. These 7RM cases had probably 5-6 cycles on them and were stuff I used when I first started reloading and didn't properly grasp the benefits of accurate case sizing.

Get yourself the Hornady/Stoney Point headspace gage set and set all of your bottleneck dies up properly for your particular chambers.