• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Rifle Scopes Recomend a scope and reticle

Ferryman

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 13, 2009
UK
Hi Guys.

I am fairly new to this long range precision shooting and I am looking at getting a new scope.

Would appreciate some input here, budget of $2K

Re: Recomend a scope and reticle

We need more info. What distance is long range for you? will you be shooting known distance or tactical? The more we know the better when can help.

Hi Longshot.

It will be mainly known distance as there is not much oportunity for tactical here in UK.
Bisley we can stretch anywhere out to 1000yds

Calibre 300WM

All of my hunting has been with duplex reticles

6.5x284 or 260
Nightforce 5.5x22x50 NP-R1 if you think in MOA
MLR/MIL if you think in MIL.
Good luck.

I'm happy with my Vortex Razor HD 5-20x50 MIL/MIL. It proved itself at the latest PSR class.
wink.gif

Well depends on your application.

But the Nightforce 5.5-22x56 with an NP-R1 I see as the perfect "all around" scope.

Your from the UK, don't fuck around with MOA, while MilRads are not metric they do IMHO lend themselfs more easilly to your system of measurements, I say this because 1 mil is 1/1000 of any unit you desire to give it, and .1 milrad is 1/10000 and so on, kinda sounds like the metric system doesn't it, but it's not, Nightforce 5.5-22x56 with MLR reticle and .1milrad knobs would be my choice, or maybe increase your budget and go Hensoldt.

Here is what I settled on

Here is my build spec.

USO

SN3 3.2 -17 X44 withAdjustable objective

Elevation: EREK 1/10 Mil

Windage: 1/10 Mil

Tube: 30mm

Reticle: Mil-Scale GAP

Finish: Matte Black

Eypiece Standard Option