Stripped barrel of copper arter 150 rds, mistake?

supermoto917

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Aug 21, 2011
110
0
52
SF Bay Area CA
I think I over did the cleaning when I stripped the copper off my rifle. The point of impact totally changed and took me about 40 plus rounds before the grouping started to get tight.So my main question is how many rounds does it normally take to lay down new copper on the rifling of the barrel? Any input on the round count before you clean the copper out of your barrel. Thanks in advance.
photo of rifle below and final grouping before I had to take off.
IMG_8801.jpg

IMAG0932.jpg
 

Rprecision

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Nov 9, 2011
801
24
Progressive Hell, CO
Re: Stripped barrel of copper arter 150 rds, mistake?

On a good quality barrel, none to a few.

I am not trying to make your barrel out to be bad, but bores with a rougher finish, take longer to shoot in
 

Rprecision

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Nov 9, 2011
801
24
Progressive Hell, CO
Re: Stripped barrel of copper arter 150 rds, mistake?

gel M-pro 5 woorks good to remove just the carbon. I have been using it since before it was popular to say on high dollar dvd's
 

supermoto917

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Aug 21, 2011
110
0
52
SF Bay Area CA
Re: Stripped barrel of copper arter 150 rds, mistake?

Right on, thanks for that answer. it was interesting since the new point on impact was dead center but 4 inches up then it started coming down after a bunch of rounds. 40 bunch that is.
 

GlockandRoll

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Jan 25, 2008
847
9
Austin, TX
Re: Stripped barrel of copper arter 150 rds, mistake?

My friend had this problem until he found a bullet and a powder that didn't foul it up so bad. But realy, I dont see any specifics here as to BBL specs, load data, # of rounds, etc... so this thread really invites more questions than answers.
 

BittenbytheBug

Private
Minuteman
Dec 14, 2011
51
0
60
Washington, US
Re: Stripped barrel of copper arter 150 rds, mistake?

I don't mess with copper fouling until my accuracy drops off noticeably. I use KG12 but my intent is never to remove all fouling just some of it.
 

supermoto917

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Aug 21, 2011
110
0
52
SF Bay Area CA
Re: Stripped barrel of copper arter 150 rds, mistake?

@ glockandroll,It all happened one night after a carbine class, when the wife and kids went to bed early and I had some free time. I just really wanted to clean the 2 AR's I used but some how the POF got dragged in the mix.

Rick, that's what I used but I'm not touching that for a while. i did use the KG1 carbon remover just to remove the carbon from Fridays shooting.