What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

Triggerhappy

General Nuscience
Full Member
Minuteman
  • Feb 15, 2009
    334
    36
    48
    Calif., MO
    I have built a Savage rifle in 260 Rem. with a 28" L-W barrel using a similar load to another rifle I have that has a SD of 10fps, yet this one is 100fps. I have anywhere from 2825-2989fps with the same load new prepped brass and weighed everything brass +/- .5gr and trickled powder load to perfect. But the kicker is that I am shooting sub 1.5" groups @ 400yds with it. What am I missing????????
    confused.gif
     

    Triggerhappy

    General Nuscience
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Feb 15, 2009
    334
    36
    48
    Calif., MO
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    As far as consistent seating depth? Because that should not be an issue they are Lapua 139gr bullet loaded on a Dillon 550b that is set to .015 off the lands.
     

    Jumper

    I have a rendezvous with death
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Dec 15, 2008
    799
    605
    53
    some disputed barricade
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    Case's need trimming maybe? If they are too long they could get pinched at the end of the chamber when fired since the case mouth can't expand to release the bullet. It might be your chronograph too. If the light is not even across both screens the readings can be off.
     

    Suasponte

    Gunny Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Apr 15, 2009
    1,590
    14
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    I have found that loads just touching the lands will always give better SD's. Even better if the gun likes it is to load touching the lands. This does not allow (or very little) gas to escape around the bullet and exit the barrel. Thus getting the maximum bang for your powder charge!

    I try to keep all my loads touching the lands if the gun will shoot there!

    Terry
     

    Triggerhappy

    General Nuscience
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Feb 15, 2009
    334
    36
    48
    Calif., MO
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jumper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Case's need trimming maybe? If they are too long they could get pinched at the end of the chamber when fired since the case mouth can't expand to release the bullet. It might be your chronograph too. If the light is not even across both screens the readings can be off. </div></div>

    The brass is new and trimmed and the chrono is a beta master from Shooting Chrony. I thought of that too but my 223 I checked right after that was really good.
     

    Victor N TN

    Retired civilian fart
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Feb 16, 2002
    4,014
    12
    69
    Knoxville TN
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Lindy</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I would start by checking the velocity on another chronograph.
    </div></div>

    +1 for Lindy.
     

    Lindy

    Gunny Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Mar 26, 2003
    4,002
    7
    Rifles Only
    www.arcanamavens.com
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    Believe the chronograph if you wish. If I were shooting 1.5 inch groups at 400 yards with a load, I'd ignore the chronograph data.
     

    The Mechanic

    Gunny Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Sep 9, 2006
    1,919
    9
    San Diego County Ca.
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    +1 should have thought about that first.
    <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Victor N TN</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Lindy</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I would start by checking the velocity on another chronograph.
    </div></div>

    +1 for Lindy.</div></div>
     

    Triggerhappy

    General Nuscience
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Feb 15, 2009
    334
    36
    48
    Calif., MO
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    Thanks for the ideas. I think you maybe on to something with the chrony. I may have had it too close to the rifle and with the long barrel the muzzle blast may have messed up the reading. The 223 has a little short barrel with little muzzle blast that would not effect the reading as much. I may try again this weekend and position it a little farther away this time.
     

    ChadTRG42

    Gunny Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jan 22, 2007
    3,338
    7
    57
    Dallas, Texas
    www.dallasreloads.com
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    100 fps is over 2" of vertical at 400, so I don't think there's that much swing. I've never had a load with those kind of high ES numbers and shoot that well. So, I think your chrony numers are no bueno per caca! Replace the battery, shield it from direct sunlight, and set the chrony atleast 15' away from the muzzle. You can set it closer if you have a muzzle brake or can.
     

    Triggerhappy

    General Nuscience
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Feb 15, 2009
    334
    36
    48
    Calif., MO
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    I knew that I should be 15' away but space did not allow (there was a big mud puddle in front of the bench) and I was more like 5-6' away at the most. That was probably the problem because my vertical spread was almost 0 the groups were almost perfectly horizontal, that's why I was so confused.
     

    Lumpy Grits

    Full Member
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jan 25, 2005
    497
    0
    The Mojave Desert-Palmdale, CA.
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    Th, I'll bet you have found the problem. You see the crono is "seeing/reading" the blast, NOT your bullet. Set it up at 10-12' from your muzzle and try that.
    Respectfully,
    LG
     

    ChadTRG42

    Gunny Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jan 22, 2007
    3,338
    7
    57
    Dallas, Texas
    www.dallasreloads.com
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Triggerhappy</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I knew that I should be 15' away but space did not allow (there was a big mud puddle in front of the bench) and I was more like 5-6' away at the most. That was probably the problem because my vertical spread was almost 0 the groups were almost perfectly horizontal, that's why I was so confused. </div></div>

    Yelp, that's why your spreads were so high. You were getting muzzle flash in the chrono. 12-15' is minimum without a can or brake, and maybe 10-12' with brake or can.
     

    Triggerhappy

    General Nuscience
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Feb 15, 2009
    334
    36
    48
    Calif., MO
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    That just make me feel much better that my rifle and ammo are fine and I just had a brain fart when setting up the chrony.
    smile.gif
     

    wksinatl

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Dec 30, 2001
    616
    1
    Atlanta, Ga
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Triggerhappy</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I knew that I should be 15' away but space did not allow (there was a big mud puddle in front of the bench) <span style="font-weight: bold">and I was more like 5-6' away at the most. </span> That was probably the problem because my vertical spread was almost 0 the groups were almost perfectly horizontal, that's why I was so confused. </div></div>

    Bingo!

    If I were shooting a CONSISTANT 1.5" at 400yds I couldn't give a rip less what the Chrono says!

    Keith
     

    Greg Langelius *

    Resident Elder Fart
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Aug 10, 2001
    9,128
    5,612
    AZ
    Re: What am I missing on a 100fps SD?

    +10, the target tells the real story.

    STP and I have an identical pair of 28" 1:8" L-W barrels. We load 142SMK's and 140AMax touching lands with 43.89/43.9gr H4350 for around 2850fps.

    Greg