• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Adams Arms Piston upper (Help)

*Bones*

Private
Minuteman
Mar 8, 2011
VA, Newport News
I am thinking about picking up an Adams Arms 11.5 upper to use on an class III lower with a can. I have no real experience with these uppers so any help would be great. This will be shot F/A. My concern is the reliability of the upper. I really cant stand the cleaning issues of the DI system and really dont like how dirty they are with the cans. I am really hoping the piston system will run cleaner an cooler with a can I have heard good things but I know you cant always trust the hype. They also seem to be priced right an I like the fact the rail is extended below the gas system for the mounting of an M203. Thank you in advance for any insight you may have.

Here is the link http://www.adamsarms.net/details.asp?sku=UA-11.5-C-TE-556

Re: Adams Arms Piston upper (Help)

Bones,

I don't wish to sway you one way or the other. However, One of my Staff members put the Adams Arms conversion on his Stag upper (16") and it runs good. WHEN it runs. He has had some issues with it, seems to make his rifle "picky" with ammo. The return spring, that pulls the operating rod back, also failed on him and he had to replace it.

We run our carbines very hard at work, that's for sure. I have done some very extensive testing on the PWS MK1 Long Stroke Piston Systems and I am very very impressed with them.

Here is a thread that I have: http://www.snipershide.com/forum/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=2697861&page=1