• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Cleaning with break fluid?

sparrow

Private
Minuteman
Mar 17, 2014
Hey all,

I was wondering if it's acceptable to clean my Remington 700 SPS Tactical with break fluid rather than conventional cleaners. I'm new to the world and a friend told me it was fine, but I doubt his credibility on the matter. Thanks!

Hey all,

I was wondering if it's acceptable to clean my Remington 700 SPS Tactical with break fluid rather than conventional cleaners. I'm new to the world and a friend told me it was fine, but I doubt his credibility on the matter. Thanks!

I can only repeat what I was told a long time ago. "Why would you, who are not a chemist, disagree with chemists who engineer and test the time proven formulas and senior shooters who agree with them."

There are a wide variety of Gun cleaning products available. Try one and see if it cleans well enough for you. If not try another type/ brand. Put brake fluid in the reservoir under the hood of your car/ truck/ motorcycle.

I suppose in some situation brake fluid would be somewhat better than nothing, but there is nothing to be gained by using it, when other purpose built products are available. Also most brake fluids (DOT3/4) are hydroscopic, which means they readily absorb water from the atmosphere. Not a good thing, when you're trying to protect your firearms.

Cleaning with break fluid?

Maybe he meant brake cleaner for the action/bolt/etc, which would be like a spray cleaner/degreaser? Seems like that would make a little more sense than brake fluid

I used brake cleaner on an gummed up AR bolt and an AK, never again, took almost a whole can and that cross isn't cheap.
I stick with gun designed cleaner now, not cheaper, just use a lot less of it.