• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Crushed shoulder when seating bullet

Bluesop7

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 4, 2011
West Texas
Im new to reloading and have only thus far loaded a total of about 50 rounds of 30-30 for another rifle and didnt have any trouble whatsoever. I got my brass prepped, primed, put powder in and went to seat the bullets and this is what I got. I am using 308 winchester brass never fired, and sierra 168GR bullets.

DSC00804.jpg

DSC00806.jpg

I am using a lee bullet seater to load this 308 ammo. I screwed the die in until it touched the shell holder then 1/4 turn more and locked it in. If I just pulled the lever until I met some resistance (not until shell holder was touching die but probably 1/8" short) it would seat the bullet fine. As you can see from the picture I was able to get one quite a bit further in but then thought I would try and fully pull the lever since the bullet was already started into the neck. If I pulled it until the shell holder touched the die, this is what I got. Is this a bad die or am I just doing something wrong? Any thoughts?

Re: Crushed shoulder when seating bullet

I think I may have figured it out. I got the pacesetter die set and apparently the bullet seater puts on a crimp, whereas I should be using the dead length bullet seater die which does not place a crimp. Did not even realize they had two different types of bullet seater dies. So much for goin to the range tomorrow with some new handloads.

Simple solution....screw the die in until it touches the shell holder, then back it out 1 turn.Now when you seat a bullet you won't bottom the neck on the collet.