• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Help me with oal

Slab74

Bullets, BBQ, and Bourbon Connoisseur
Minuteman
Dec 23, 2019
So I just tried using my Hornady oal gauge and bullet comparator. Rifle is a GAP PPR in 6 creed. This is my first time doing this. My numbers came out to:
Bullet was 105 hybrid. I know that the last one was pushed a bit harder than the rest. Two questions, do these numbers seem to be in the ballpark? If numbers seem ok, suggestions on starting load? Rifle has 160 rounds down the tube. All prime 115.

So I just tried using my Hornady oal gauge and bullet comparator. Rifle is a GAP PPR in 6 creed. This is my first time doing this. My numbers came out to:
Bullet was 105 hybrid. I know that the last one was pushed a bit harder than the rest. Two questions, do these numbers seem to be in the ballpark? If numbers seem ok, suggestions on starting load? Rifle has 160 rounds down the tube. All prime 115.

Remember that every chamber is slightly different.

How much harder did you push the last one in? I'm guessing that one was slightly jammed into the lands. Now - the nice thing about this, and Erik Cortina goes into this in one of his videos, the exact measurement doesn't matter. Pick one and use it as a reference point going forward. You'll be testing different seating depths against this reference point. From what you've got, you had two very close at 2.256 and 58. Use one of those and move on to testing different seating depths against it.