• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Long range caliber given current ammo availability for a newbie

Beezer911

Private
Minuteman
Oct 18, 2020
Midwest
Hi everyone,
I’m a complete noob when it comes to center fire long range. I’ve shoot precision .22LR for years (which I love) and want to get into shooting long range center fire. I’ve been lurking for awhile reading everything I can and I know the “what caliber should I start with” has been beaten to death, but I have a different twist.

I want to build/buy a bolt gun to get started in long range. I’d possibly end up shooting some PSR, but right now it’s more about learning. Ideally I’d just start with a .308 and learn with that. Problem is, I can’t find .308 ammo to save my life and I’m not set up to reload, nor is buying a gun, glass, etc, AND everything for reloading feasible right now. So factory ammo it is for this gun. Reloading will come, but not for awhile.

That said, I seem to be able to find 6.5 Creedmoor and .224 Valkyrie on the shelves pretty consistently. I know this is apples and oranges, but which of these two would be a better learning platform in your opinion? Is there a different caliber (remember - i need to be able to get it so .308 and .223 are tough) that I should be looking into as well?

Thanks for your help!