• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

n00b Quetions

crocker84

Private
Minuteman
Jan 27, 2010
Midwest
I apologize if this is in the archives, I have been searching quite a while but can't find a definative answer. I have a new RCBS press and RCBS hand primer. I just purchased a Hornady case trimmer, and I am wondering if the Hornady shell holders will work in my hand primer and press.

Also, I haven't purchased my dies yet, is it worth while to mess with the type S dies or should I just get started with the RCBS competition dies. I am new to all of this, but I have read volumes. I am trying to keep it fairly simple until I get a rhythm down.

Re: n00b Quetions

only thing to do is try the shell holder in the hand primer and press. I have the RCBS hand primer and only use RCBS shell holders.

Don't know about shell holder interchanging...

You didn't mention caliber, but if you are running a popular caliber....

I would recommend the following dies:

Quality FLS
Forster bump/necksize bushing die
Micrometer-head sleeve type Seater

I have the complete Forster setup for 308 and think its great. Its a bit pricey, but is the most versatile setup you can get. I have the National Match FLS, which allows me to size for autoloaders, or I can set it for less sizing. I can neck-only size with interchangable bushings, or I can only bump the neck, or both at the same time. The sliding sleeve Seater gives more concentric ammo, and YES, the $20 extra is frickin worth it for the micrometer head. Set it up one and from then on, dial up your number and go to town.