• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

OAL question

beasler

Private
Minuteman
Sep 10, 2005
Western Mass
I'm just getting started reloading. I've read that when firing cases for the first time, loading to a particular rifle's chamber OAL will produce more concentric formed necks. But, my HS Precision 300wsm has a detachable magazine that is .10 off the lands than the rifle's chamber OAL. My accuracy with max mag length is good, but I want to know if I should fire-form my brass at chamber OAL first before loading at the shorter magazine length. I'd rather not get into neck turning now if I can avoid it . . .

Thanks for the help.

Re: OAL question

I suggest that you fire form the brass to the chamber prior to making any "target loads in that it removes one variable

Thanks Bill. You confirmed my suspicion.

Should I be concerned with a difference of .10 off the lands for the magazine length? Seems a bit much, but I'd be interested in opinions.

I'm not quite getting your question. Are you saying that seating a bullet closer to the lands will result in more uniform neck wall thickness after firing?

Why waste bullets and powder and load it to chamber OAL if you are going to be restricted by the mag length? If you don't care much for single loading then that would be okay. I am just saying...

Michael - that's what I read, and that it is important the first time new brass is fired. Then the neck will be fire-formed more uniformly. Not sure I buy it though, because doesn't the brass expand to chamber maximum each time it's fired? That would mean I have to load to the lands every time . . . which I'm not going to do because of the mag length, which I think is HK's point.