• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Savage mark ii tr accuracy/ammo issues

HMRamateur

Will work for powder
Minuteman
Feb 9, 2019
I recently bought a savage mark ii tr with the Boyd's tacticool stock to get some cheap trigger time with. I bought 10 different types of ammo to test which it liked most, and surprisingly it liked cheap Winchester super x the most, with Eley sport a very close second. After I found the ammo it liked, I started playing with action torque values, as I've seen videos of people having better groups with different torque settings. I bought a thicker bottom metal so there isn't as much force in one area, as I have no bedded the stock, and I don't plan on it either. Once I changed the bottom metal, it did not like the super x anymore. Groups were all over the place. So I changed it back to the thinner bottom metal with a lower torque value, and the one group I shot was tighter again. I went out again today to see how it shot between 20, 25, and 30 inch pounds. 25 shot about 1 moa at 100, 30 opened up so I loosened the screws, tightened back up at 25, and they were all over the place again. Does this have to do with inconsistent torque on a laminate stock with no pillars? Maybe the ammo has been inconsistent the whole time, with a few good groups? I'm going to try the Eley again and see how that works, wish I brought more with me today but I was expecting the super x to shoot the same. The first picture is the first time shooting the super x at 50 yds, and the second picture is at 40 inch pounds at 50 yds. No point showing what the group looks like now as it's probably a 3-4 moa spread
20190411_191530.jpg