• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

barrett M98B break in ?

Regret

Private
Minuteman
Apr 20, 2012
kauai island hawaii
Ok I Jus picked up a 98B and the manual says just don't over heat the barrel this is my first high end rifle and I really want to make sure I do this right if there is even a break in at all what do you all recommend? Ps I'm still a newbie .

Re: barrett M98B break in ?

That rifle can take anything you can afford to throw at it. Just shoot it and have fun.

I don't believe there is a break in for a .50. They aren't meant for supreme accuracy or high round count. They are designed for minute of big ass engine block, and anti-material. I wouldn't worry about it, and just go out and have fun with it.

Not a big fan if barrel break in but I would think they would want you to clean the barrel after each round for the first 20 rounds. Did it with my M96 what a pain.

Haha oops, shows my knowledge of Barrett model numbers
smile.gif

I would just shoot it. Heat kills any tube. The cooler you keep it the longer it should last. I almost ever fire more than five shots at any one time with my 338LM. Most of the time it is two or three. Then I move and that gives the tube plenty of time to cool down.

Ps I bought it from shooters in jacksonville and had the scope "professionaly mounted " Haha what a joke I sent ten rounds down range and the scope came off on the 11 shot yet still held a 4 inch group with hornaday hpbt at 800 yards FN awesome beast !!!!!!!!

LOL I've run 2 different scopes/mounts on my 98b. I bought mine there too.
It is a great rifle -- I just loaded it up and went to town!