• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

New to Expander Die and mandrels

Schw15

Longrange
Minuteman
  • Jul 21, 2019
    Colorado
    I'm new to them never used one. Usually have bushings or get along with sizer dies. But what brand seems to be the go to? Not looking to spend a ton of money but 21st century seems to have a die body and mandrels that's are reasonable. Any advice helps

Reactions: jLorenzo
    Are
    I use the 21 century die and 21st century or my own mandrels.
    like they bushings measure my loaded case with bullet and pick a mandrel 2 thousands under? And I have a full length sizer die then would u use the mandrel die to set the neck tension I want?

Are

like they bushings measure my loaded case with bullet and pick a mandrel 2 thousands under? And I have a full length sizer die then would u use the mandrel die to set the neck tension I want?
    I just go by bullet size and brass behavior.
    1-2 thou under bullet diameter is a safe start.
    I actually use a full bullet diameter mandrel to fix up most brand new brass

You get spring back so you have to see what your brass does.
    you can use a full length die then set neck with mandrel.

Are

No you pick mandrels .001” under to account for springback.

Alright so it's for .308 loading 300 win mag. So your saying get a .307 to .306
    Yes.
    I don’t get a full thou of spring back so I don’t consider it in my selections but you can. That’s why it’s tough to give definitive answers.

Reactions: CK1.0