• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

nashlaw

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 16, 2006
manchester, tn
A friend of mine is considering one of these. He hunts bean fields and is wanting a flat-shooting rifle. I have no experience with this cartridge, but thought I would put this out and see what you guys think.

Your thoughts on the matter, please.

david

Re: .270 WSM

Does he reload? Ammo availability could be a problem if he doesn't. It would be an adequate caliber for his needs with the proper bullet. Have him look at the 25-06, great for beanfields!
Ammo is cheaper and easier to find.

Eddie

I love the 270 calibers, and the WSM is a good flat round. Federal makes ammo with the 110 grain Barnes Tipped TSX bullet. This load moving about 3500 fps would be a good flat shooter.
If he reloads, the Hornady SST bullets are great.

Thanks for the replies. I think this fellow is a factory ammo sort of guy. I was thinking along the lines of the 25-06 or maybe even a .260, myself. Problem with the .260 is that ammo is tough to find in my area.

Thanks again.

david

My 25-06 loves 80 gr TTSX with RL-22 at about 3550 fps. The whitetails not so much.
wink.gif

If he shoots factory ammo I think the 25-06 or 7mm-08 would fit the bill nicely.

I've shot a little of the HSM ammo loaded with Bergers out of mine and it is decent but if you want a 270 WSM to shine you have to reload.
I shoot 140 Bergers at 3300 and 140 Accubonds at 3341 and it will hit with authority out to 785 on deer I know so far and I dropped a couple elk under 400yrd with chest shots with the Bergers, I like it way better than the 300 WBY I was shooting before.