• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

6.5x55 swede info

calebintn

Sergeant
Minuteman
Hi I am a newbie member but have read posts for a while.
Been in love with mausers for a long time and recently bought a 6.5 swede, I am planning on building it into some sort of sniper.
Just wanted to get some of you guys advice before I get in to deep with this mauser.

Thanks in advance,

Re: 6.5x55 swede info

How does it shoot now?

I love mausers also and the 6.5x55 is one of all time favorite cartridges. If that puppy shoots good now I'd let it be until you shoot the barrel out of it, then look at rebuilding it. But if you are hell bent on rebuilding now I'd try to stick with more traditional look for the rifle. Find yourself a nice wood stock and then do a good bedding job on it then get the receiver drilled and tapped and slap a good base, set of rings, and scope on it and be done. Just my two cents, but in the end it is your rifle so do what makes you happy.

I have not shot groups with the gun yet, I have still got to get a scope for it. The bore is in very good condition on the gun. Synthetic stocks are very hard to find but wooden stocks are few but available, I was hoping to get a tactical type stock but we will see.
Been wandering if these older guns can take the pressure of shooting to 1000 yards.
Oh yeah I will have to measure but it has about a 20' barrel, dont know if this will be suitable either.

On stocks you would be surprised at what is available.
http://www.gun-parts.com/mauserstocks/