• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Accurate Bolt Choices

GotGoodGroups

Private
Minuteman
Sep 21, 2012
www.balancedtrainers.com
I am brand new to this forum although I have read it for a couple years. I am also new to firearms in that I have only been shooting for a couple years. I got the bug fairly bad in that I now even reload.

My firearms up to now have been semi-auto. I have become more interested in accuracy. Although my AR15 can shoot groups around 0.5". I have an AR10 also where I sometimes struggle to keep things under 1". Some days I do approach 0.5". So my expectation is that a good bolt gun should be able to do 5 shot 0.5" groups if the shooter does his part.

I recently decided to get a bolt gun. I realize that some of the time you get what you pay for. I have considered going to the expensive end in things because I believe in spend once...cry once. The caliber that interests me is 308.

Sako rifles were at the top of my list. On the other end of the expense end Savage rifles were also of strong interest.

I have been doing a ton of research. I believe I ran into a show stopper with the Sako though. I called up Beretta to ask them a few questions. The one question that I asked involved cost in replacing a barrel if I shot the barrel out. The response was that I would have to go to an aftermarket barrel maker. I thought that this was ridiculous. One spends +$3000 for a rifle and then can't get a replacement barrel from the supplier????