• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

barrel crown question

Brada2

Private
Minuteman
Apr 10, 2011
coos bay, oregon
I just picked up my remington 700 SPS tactical in .308 and i found a small dent in the crown near the inside diameter and the lands and grooves, is this something that i should be worried about? should i send it back to remington? or....is this a total newbie question? if needed i can send a picture through e-mail

Re: barrel crown question

There are alotta thoughts about crown. The biggest issue when cutting a new crown or the original is to make sure its concentric to bore and clean.

That said, What you are explaining may cause a point of impact shift, and or bullet jacket deformation if its drastic. IE protrudes into the bore of the rifle.
If its rather minor and resembles a bur I would probably shoot it and see what happens. If terrible accuracy then yeah get it fixed.

I wouldn't send it back... it's hard for us to say w/o seeing pics, but if it shoots fine, you're goo, if not, have a good gunsmith fix it.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Brada2</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I just picked up my remington 700 SPS tactical in .308 and i found a small dent in the crown near the inside diameter and the lands and grooves, is this something that i should be worried about? should i send it back to remington? or....is this a total newbie question? if needed i can send a picture through e-mail

</div></div>

I would shoot it first, there is only one way to find out. Then make that determination.

remington700003.jpg

remington700002.jpg