• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Gunsmithing Build vs buy

rdmega

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 25, 2011
utah
I have been shooting my Savage 10FP for a few years now, its in .308 and I have a Stockade Prarie Tactical so I like that style. I work for a distibutor and I can get very good deals on Savage stuff. Here is my question:

Would it be better to build a .260 using a) a stevens and rifle basix trigger and a custom barrel b) target action and custom barrel Or c) get the LRP model with the HS stock on it and jus shoot it. Prices total would be approx. a) $860 b) $875 c) $643.

Thanks for the responses, now off to work!

Re: Build vs buy

If you can get an LRP and HS for $643, then its a no brainer!

I just wasnt sure if those barrels shoot as well as a custom for only $200 more, but yes that model has the HS precision although it is a more sporter model than I would like, I believe all the HS stocks are at least pillar bedded?

I have no beef whatsoever with Savage barrels, but for $100-200 extra, I'd definitely get a sweet aftermarket custom barrel.

what direction you should take your savage depends on what you want to accomplish with it. you didnt say.

MALLARD Good point I didnt, I am just looking for something for a little better wind and elevation than my .308 but I am not ready to take it to a magnum yet. I am going to have a .338 eventually so this will bridge the gap but allow me to shoot more than a .300 win mag or 7mm wsm that I considered.

Just target shooting, but eventually I want to try some competitions, I like the idea of F-class.