• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Choosing Rifle - Guidance Needed

Scott2501

Private
Minuteman
Mar 10, 2010
Hey guys,

I am just getting into the bolt action game, having spent most of my time and resources on ARs for the past few years. You guys were so helpful with my last decision - a Nightforce 1-4 - that I thought I'd check in again.

I am trying to decide between a Remington 700 SPS Tactical ($619), a Savage Model 10 FCP-K ($799), or a Savage Model 10 PC, all in .308.

In the near future, I plan on getting an AAC 762 SD to run on my .308 and my 5.56 ARs, so that plays into the equasion. After paying for the threading, the price is pretty close on all three.

So, which would you pick for a good "starter" rifle. I would use it primarily for target shooting at 100-500 yards, but also occasionally for hunting. I think I have a pretty good handle on the pros and cons, but I'm still not sure. Here is what I know...

Remington - 20" barrel, 1 in 12, Hogue stock would need to be replaced for best results, not threaded, I like the 700 action

Savage FCP-K - 24" barrel, 1 in 10, Accustock is supposed to be good, but not easily replaced, fluted barrel and threaded for a muzzle break

Savage PC - 20" barrel, 1 in 10, no threading

Thanks for any opinions, I just want to make sure I get off to a good start.

Re: Choosing Rifle - Guidance Needed

I'd vote for the Savage FCP-K, restock it if you like. I don't like the Rem for your application, mainly due to the 1/12 twist with a can, which doesn't like the heavier bullets. I use a 1/12 PSS and it loves 155s to 175s, nothing heavier.

Just my .02

Kirk R