• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

F T/R Competition DTA SRS covert 308 + 7wsm for F Class F/TR.

Bob Roberts

Private
Minuteman
Jan 23, 2013
Hi all,

I’m new to long range shooting and I’m presently going to a club with a 1000 yard range to learn all about this interesting sport.

I quite like the idea of 7wsm but from my research I’ve discovered that it’s barrel life is not the best.

My plan is to use the 7wsm for 700 - 1000 yards and 308 for less than 600 yards unless it is very windy.
blush.gif

The thought of being able to quickly switch to 7wsm and f class open if the weather is bad makes me smile.

I like the look of the DTA SRS Covert, with its 16in barrel it looks like it could quite fun to use in the practical comps, most of which are 300 yards. Shame about there not being 10 round mags though.

But will I be at much of a disadvantage using this barrel at up to 600 yards F T/R?

For any further I plan on switching to 7wsm. That way I should only use 500 ish rounds of 7wsm a year. Hopefully making the barrel last at least two seasons, maybe even three with any luck.

That’s one of the reasons I like the look of the DTA, I only have to learn to use one trigger and only have to purchase one scope but I can use a cheaper calibre for most of the shorter range comps then switch out to 7wsm when the shorter barrel is a limiting factor.
smile.gif

Do you all think that this set up sounds competitive?

Re: DTA SRS covert 308 + 7wsm for F Class F/TR.