• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

How crazy am I for trying this?

bj1126

Private
Minuteman
Feb 14, 2014
Orlando, FL
I'm very new to precision shooting and rather than spend a bunch on a rifle to get into it I'm thinking I can use what I have until I decide if it is for me.

My rifle is an LWRC M6A2 SPR. I've got a USO ST-10 TPAL on it now for this effort.

Shooting Black Hills 77gr SMKs at 100-300 yards I'm getting about 1-.75 MOA. I think I can improve that with a bit more practice and better trigger presses. I might go with a Geissele or something as well since I'm running the stock "enhanced fire control group" from LWRC. It's a great trigger for normal stuff but seems to be a little rough for what I want to do.

My goal is to stretch this to its limits, 600-800 yards without resorting to hand loading. I'm asking you guys with more experience if I am just nuts or if this should be possible?

Last edited:
I think that if you get into reloading and do a ladder test (very carefully & find your accuracy load) and get a much lighter trigger you might be able to stretch your distance out to 1,000 yds.

I also have an LWRC M6A2 SPR and am also disappointed in the trigger. I tried the JP reduced trigger spring kit but it didn't help much. I think I see a Geissele SSA-E in its future. Even with 77 grain projos and a geissele trigger I think 800 yard would be a stretch for the 556 but 600 is doable with quality glass.

Last edited:
600 is VERY doable with a good factory load and even mediocre glass.