• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Leaving ammo behind

8nvpmj.jpg

• Love
Reactions: Makinchips208
Ya know, if ya thinq playing gun games is guna getcha kilt, then don't play. You can tell everyone, "I told you so", when someone we know dies in a gunfight.

Personally, I'm not a professional gun slinger. I'm a hobby shooter who likes playing games and attending matches. I probably wouldn't if I had "work guns", and had to shoot all the time, but I'm a dad and professional something else, so I don't have a lot of time to do the things I like, much less the things I do for money.

If you're some high speed operator who shoots people all the time I guess I understand that playing games might instill bad habits, but for the guy who may have to skin it once in their lives I think the benefits far, far, far outweigh the potential downside. I've never met anyone who thought a good score in pistol sports meant they were a gunfighter or a high PRS number meant they were a sniper (unless they actually are). That said, the most prolific gunfighter in American history trained by standing in front of a mirror and drawing and dry firing, and I've never seen anything about him entering a pistol match...

Jerry Miculek is not a gunfighter either, but I sure as hell would do everything I could to avoid getting into a gunfight with him. I would think that many bad habits and mistakes that might be picked up in shooting sports could be compensated for with the speed and accuracy they instill. Just becoming proficient in moving and firing as opposed to planting yourself and draw fire seems like a huge advantage to me. But again, not a gunfighter, so take that with a grain of salt.