Night Vision The Official: Steiner C35 Thermal Clip-on Review and User Thread!

Charger442

Sergeant
Supporter
Full Member
Minuteman
Supporter+
  • Nov 2, 2010
    3,642
    3,941
    South Texas
    So what's the best one to get S or C?

    Going in a gap10 260 and I already have an old school 1.8-10 USO SN3 in a 1.5" mount... But that s35 price is TOUGH to beat.

    @DownRangeThermal

    Any clip ONS left?
     

    Romeo458

    That Guy
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Sep 20, 2019
    1,043
    1,692
    NEIA
    ZomboMeme 25112022193825.jpg


    Any idea of restock ETA?
     
    • Haha
    • Like
    Reactions: KYAggie and BurtG

    Romeo458

    That Guy
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Sep 20, 2019
    1,043
    1,692
    NEIA
    GFL was down at market close, not up...

    I did look, that's how I know they were out of stock.
     
    • Haha
    Reactions: BurtG

    blbennett1288

    Rivet
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Apr 24, 2017
    3,033
    3,360
    Hoover, Alabama
    Listed my Steiner C35 in the PX

     

    7magsavage

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Aug 9, 2012
    403
    115
    46
    Ok so when I go to the Steiner app and I’m connected to the c35, why when I go to the media tab I don’t have any media?
    I have taken pictures with it. And I can get them but only by going through the device tab and screen shotting them.
    Someone who’s played with theirs more and figured it out I would love to hear from you.
     

    Charger442

    Sergeant
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Nov 2, 2010
    3,642
    3,941
    South Texas
    i bought one last week from MHSA. i was hoping to have it by this coming weekend. got my GAP-10 setup with scope and all, just need this to mount in front.

    im usually very patient.. this wait is killing me. i filled out my ITAR disclaimer last week, was hoping they would have my C35 in the mail before Turkey day.
     

    roostercogburn98

    Crawling America, one mall at a time
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
    Nov 3, 2010
    6,884
    13,021
    Ok so when I go to the Steiner app and I’m connected to the c35, why when I go to the media tab I don’t have any media?
    I have taken pictures with it. And I can get them but only by going through the device tab and screen shotting them.
    Someone who’s played with theirs more and figured it out I would love to hear from you.
    There are two media sections. One is for pics/videos that you take on the actual C35. The other is for when your connected via wifi and use the controls on your phone/ tablet to take the pic.

    The one marked “B” on the pic is stuff you have used the app button to take a pic of.

    The one marked “A” is for when you use the buttons on the C35 to take
    pics/videos.

    I hope that makes sense
    3FDC1F89-63BD-47E2-991F-20B27B97F2C5.jpeg
     

    951Hunter

    Private
    Minuteman
    Oct 25, 2020
    22
    14
    Nebraska
    Once you've got images you saved using the unit, they'll be stored in "media on device." (Using android) you can download these images to your phone at the top right if the screen using the menu option up there
     

    Attachments

    • Screenshot_20221128_161223_Steiner Connect~2.jpg
      Screenshot_20221128_161223_Steiner Connect~2.jpg
      55.3 KB · Views: 30
    • Like
    Reactions: Balor

    7magsavage

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Aug 9, 2012
    403
    115
    46
    There are two media sections. One is for pics/videos that you take on the actual C35. The other is for when your connected via wifi and use the controls on your phone/ tablet to take the pic.

    The one marked “B” on the pic is stuff you have used the app button to take a pic of.

    The one marked “A” is for when you use the buttons on the C35 to take
    pics/videos.

    I hope that makes sense
    View attachment 8009112
    You’re the man.
    Thank you kindly sir. Exactly what I was looking to have answered.
     

    towerofpower93

    Private
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jul 11, 2010
    546
    286
    39
    I know this is the C35 thread, and I have an S35, but I assume the interface and options are somewhat similar.

    I got the S35 out last night for the first time and connected via the app pretty easily, but it won't stream the image to the app. I was able to see images and video taken on the app, but is it supposed to give you full motion video (with a delay, I presume) of what the scope is seeing on your phone? When in the streaming section of the app I hit the little camera button and it took pics, but never displayed what the scope was seeing.

    Also, is there any way to change the adjustment distances in the zeroing menu to inches vs cm? Or a way to adjust the zoom steps from 1/10th to something larger, like 1/4, to make zooming in a faster proposition?
     

    twin_57_hound

    Private
    Minuteman
    Jul 30, 2020
    11
    8
    CA, USA
    I know this is the C35 thread, and I have an S35, but I assume the interface and options are somewhat similar.

    I got the S35 out last night for the first time and connected via the app pretty easily, but it won't stream the image to the app. I was able to see images and video taken on the app, but is it supposed to give you full motion video (with a delay, I presume) of what the scope is seeing on your phone? When in the streaming section of the app I hit the little camera button and it took pics, but never displayed what the scope was seeing.

    Also, is there any way to change the adjustment distances in the zeroing menu to inches vs cm? Or a way to adjust the zoom steps from 1/10th to something larger, like 1/4, to make zooming in a faster proposition?
    I checked out the SteinerConnect app and connected to my C35, and when I click on the "Stream" it just instantly gave me a video feed from the C35, do you see that "stream" option in the SteinerConnect app?
     

    Attachments

    • steiner-app.jpg
      steiner-app.jpg
      64.7 KB · Views: 13

    Charger442

    Sergeant
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Nov 2, 2010
    3,642
    3,941
    South Texas
    So what are the options for scope adapters? Apparently it will take the Burris ones but those are unobtainium and out of stock currently
     

    towerofpower93

    Private
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jul 11, 2010
    546
    286
    39
    I checked out the SteinerConnect app and connected to my C35, and when I click on the "Stream" it just instantly gave me a video feed from the C35, do you see that "stream" option in the SteinerConnect app?

    Yep, that stream function is what I went in, but no video. I’ll play around a bit more in the menu and make sure I’m not missing something that has to be activated on the scope like the wifi does.
     

    BuildingConceptsllc

    Don't Start None, won't be none.
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Nov 13, 2020
    4,426
    3,527
    Alabama
    So what are the options for scope adapters? Apparently it will take the Burris ones but those are unobtainium and out of stock currently
    We shall see.... I ordered one from opticsplanet.com and it's supposed to now be shipping on Dec 16th. Of course we all know this is sort of a roll of thr dice, but if it works out and I get it, I will have a sweet scanner plus the C35 as a clip on, to go with my WP-LR24. I have thought seriously about selling both C35 and the LR24 and getting a new Clip ELR but it's a nice package to have the scanner / clip on with imo, the best NV clip on there is, so have to see what the eye piece brings to the party and go from there. I can update this thread if/when I get it.
     

    Charger442

    Sergeant
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Nov 2, 2010
    3,642
    3,941
    South Texas
    We shall see.... I ordered one from opticsplanet.com and it's supposed to now be shipping on Dec 16th. Of course we all know this is sort of a roll of thr dice, but if it works out and I get it, I will have a sweet scanner plus the C35 as a clip on, to go with my WP-LR24. I have thought seriously about selling both C35 and the LR24 and getting a new Clip ELR but it's a nice package to have the scanner / clip on with imo, the best NV clip on there is, so have to see what the eye piece brings to the party and go from there. I can update this thread if/when I get it.

    I found a Burris eye peice so I can use as a scanner too, so I may hold off on the scope adapter and just run it rail mounted in front and see how it works out
     

    AMTGMC

    Sergeant of the Hide
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Sep 9, 2018
    206
    251
    Yep, that stream function is what I went in, but no video. I’ll play around a bit more in the menu and make sure I’m not missing something that has to be activated on the scope like the wifi does.
    It’s in this thread somewhere but I had to turn off cell service on my phone to stream.
     

    Gasgun

    Private
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Mar 10, 2013
    366
    358
    Anyone run one on a Scar 17 yet?
    I have a 1-8 ATACR on my SCAR 17. There isn’t enough rail space to mount the C35.
    My C35 lives on my MWS and my SR-15. It seems happy there.
     

    towerofpower93

    Private
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jul 11, 2010
    546
    286
    39
    It’s in this thread somewhere but I had to turn off cell service on my phone to stream.

    Ah, that kinda makes sense. Forces all the broadcasting juice to the wifi stream only, or something like that :)

    I'll give it a shot tonight, thanks.
     

    Huskydriver

    Not here for a long time but here for a good time
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Apr 17, 2018
    7,014
    13,397
    SLC, Utah
    Ah, that kinda makes sense. Forces all the broadcasting juice to the wifi stream only, or something like that :)

    I'll give it a shot tonight, thanks.

    Interesting..... I will say I had not read this before and mine streams without doing anything to my cell service. Pretty sure @5-0 MTB when we were playing with his didn't either. Let us know if that works for you
     
    • Like
    Reactions: towerofpower93

    towerofpower93

    Private
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jul 11, 2010
    546
    286
    39
    Interesting..... I will say I had not read this before and mine streams without doing anything to my cell service. Pretty sure @5-0 MTB when we were playing with his didn't either. Let us know if they works for you

    Mine also took a few times to actually connect via wifi/BT/whatever it's using the last time I tried. I'm sure there's a step by step as to what you're supposed to turn on in what order, but I just fire up the scope, open the app while it's doing it's 16-18sec warm up, then turn on wifi in the scope, and try to connect on the app.

    Maybe I should get the scope completely on and wifi'd up before getting into the app....
     

    Charger442

    Sergeant
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Nov 2, 2010
    3,642
    3,941
    South Texas
    Man, got my c35 in hand yesterday. Whoever said it's a brick, was not lying.

    If I was antifa, I'd be tempted to throw this through the window of a local business.

    It's going to be awesome.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: monkeypunch

    AMTGMC

    Sergeant of the Hide
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Sep 9, 2018
    206
    251
    Mine also took a few times to actually connect via wifi/BT/whatever it's using the last time I tried. I'm sure there's a step by step as to what you're supposed to turn on in what order, but I just fire up the scope, open the app while it's doing it's 16-18sec warm up, then turn on wifi in the scope, and try to connect on the app.

    Maybe I should get the scope completely on and wifi'd up before getting into the app....
    This also might be an android / ios thing. Others on here had problems connecting to iPhone but reported no problems connecting with their android. I have an iPhone and streaming worked fine after I turned off cell service.
     

    NavyshooterM40

    CAPT USN (ret)
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Sep 19, 2010
    443
    82
    Texas
    I had no problem connecting it to my iPad. When you change the impact point with your phone or iPad I assume you hit the upload button.
     

    monkeypunch

    Private
    Minuteman
    Sep 29, 2022
    14
    17
    OK
    Man, got my c35 in hand yesterday. Whoever said it's a brick, was not lying.

    If I was antifa, I'd be tempted to throw this through the window of a local business.

    It's going to be awesome.
    The more I use mine verses my Super Hogster, the more I like the C35. My Super Hogster is now on a .22LR for pest control, and gets swapped to guns which don't have rail space for the C35.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: KYAggie

    dirtytough

    Private
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Dec 6, 2013
    121
    63
    ND
    I’ve used the C35 a decent amount hunting coyotes now. I am used to just using a thermal weapon sight.

    I like the clip on since I can use a normal scope with a holdover reticle. There is more fiddling around with the clip on compared to the weapon sight though. (For me)

    The menu and buttons are easy to use and I can also adjust the focus with a poor boy throw lever. I was worried it was going to be too far away.

    The factory battery is a pos. I got two extras from a vape shop and they last way longer even though they are less MAH’s.

    For the price I don’t know of anything better. Furthest kill with it so far is 413 yards. After using it I really want to try a Clip LR/ELR. I’m debating on selling it and buying one of the Clips.
     

    BuildingConceptsllc

    Don't Start None, won't be none.
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Nov 13, 2020
    4,426
    3,527
    Alabama
    I’ve used the C35 a decent amount hunting coyotes now. I am used to just using a thermal weapon sight.

    I like the clip on since I can use a normal scope with a holdover reticle. There is more fiddling around with the clip on compared to the weapon sight though. (For me)

    The menu and buttons are easy to use and I can also adjust the focus with a poor boy throw lever. I was worried it was going to be too far away.

    The factory battery is a pos. I got two extras from a vape shop and they last way longer even though they are less MAH’s.

    For the price I don’t know of anything better. Furthest kill with it so far is 413 yards. After using it I really want to try a Clip LR/ELR. I’m debating on selling it and buying one of the Clips.

    Yeah I get that. The C35 is really good though, especially for the price. I haven't been able to bring myself to actually sell my WP24LR though, and I'd really need to for me to spring for a Clip ELR and I would sell the c35. I like the idea of having my NV clip on for actual long range shooting at night, there is no thermal that will do what it does at that range. Of course I have to basically go somewhere to do that because I don't have anywhere that I can shoot at night at the range that it's capable of and the range that it outperforms thermals.

    Tough call. I'm waiting on the eye piece for the C35 to come in and see how it works as a scanner. Pretty cool to have a thermal scanner, thermal clip and NV long range clip , but that Clip ELR is also awesome.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: BurtG and Balor

    Charger442

    Sergeant
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Nov 2, 2010
    3,642
    3,941
    South Texas
    The more I use mine verses my Super Hogster, the more I like the C35. My Super Hogster is now on a .22LR for pest control, and gets swapped to guns which don't have rail space for the C35.

    I use to have a super yoter. It was cool but not sure how the C35 stacks up yet. Going to zero this afternoon and try for hogs tonight.

    Anyone know what those wraps are called that close the glare from between the day scope and the front of the thermal? Seems like it could be better for daytime shooting
     

    Charger442

    Sergeant
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Nov 2, 2010
    3,642
    3,941
    South Texas
    Alright, hunted with the C35 tonight, here are my observations.

    1) the PIP seems to be the only way to see digital zoom. Unless I'm missing it, and then when it's mounted in front of the scope it's mostly cut off in field of view. Sucks

    2) zoom is critical and is very precise.

    3) all the buttons are really intuitive and easy to take pictures and record videos.

    4) zeroing doesn't seem very precise, on the unit the adjustments are only an MOA at a time. I shot, thought I'd adjust by centimeters, adjusted back to zero,zero and felt it was good enough.i see you can adjust through the app, maybe it can be more precise.

    5) can't figure out how to change units from cm to inches in the app. Would help by adjusting zero in the app
     

    Huskydriver

    Not here for a long time but here for a good time
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Apr 17, 2018
    7,014
    13,397
    SLC, Utah
    I use to have a super yoter. It was cool but not sure how the C35 stacks up yet. Going to zero this afternoon and try for hogs tonight.

    Anyone know what those wraps are called that close the glare from between the day scope and the front of the thermal? Seems like it could be better for daytime shooting

    Beer coozie and cut out the bottom...

    Zeroing on the app is easierbut not super intuitive..and yes you can change the units.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Charger442

    5-0 MTB

    AICS owners be like “Does this count?” …
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Dec 21, 2019
    109
    247
    Utah
    Interesting..... I will say I had not read this before and mine streams without doing anything to my cell service. Pretty sure @5-0 MTB when we were playing with his didn't either. Let us know if that works for you
    Didn’t notice it affecting anything with service…