• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

First precision rifle

gmansbu

Private
Minuteman
Feb 28, 2021
New Jersey
I’m a beginner in the precision shooting world, but would like to get into it. I like the look of a custom/semi custom rifle, but I feel like it would be overkill since I am a rookie. Originally I was thinking Remington 700, but after reading on the forum it seems like there are more popular choices.

After reading some other beginner threads I’m thinking of going with the bergara b14 hmr in 6.5 creedmoor. Can I upgrade individual components of this rifle? Trigger, stock, barrel, etc. Or do I have to keep it stock? As I get better at shooting I would like the option to upgrade components as I go.

Regarding other options it seems like the tikka is more popular on the forum. It also looked like it was a little more expensive. Would I see any benefit as a beginner from spending the little more for the tikka compared to the bergara?

Thanks in advance guys

Rather than fighting the construction and or worrying about what components you should/would need next, if this is all new, I would suggest getting a rifle that is basically ready to use.

For my use, the RPR in 6.5 meets all the requirements you state and other than a scope/mount and bipod, nothing else is needed. The RPR is easily capable of beating the 1MOA mark out of the box with most users getting much better.