• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Range Report Shooting paper vs steel

Cnewhouse48

Private
Minuteman
Nov 5, 2013
St.hedwig tx
Hit the range today with the .308 in tote to do some paper shooting @500-700 yards. While I’m not new to LR shooting I’m no pro. Anyways I usually shoot steel or 1 gallon water jugs and have had some really good groups/ results.

But shooting paper is WAY harder for me I couldn’t shoot any better than 1.25moa from 5-700 yards and I’ve shot 1/2-1 moa groups with this rifle in the past on steel.

So I’m curious is it just me or do some of y’all have better results shooting steel?

Hit the range today with the .308 in tote to do some paper shooting @500-700 yards. While I’m not new to LR shooting I’m no pro. Anyways I usually shoot steel or 1 gallon water jugs and have had some really good groups/ results.

But shooting paper is WAY harder for me I couldn’t shoot any better than 1.25moa from 5-700 yards and I’ve shot 1/2-1 moa groups with this rifle in the past on steel.

So I’m curious is it just me or do some of y’all have better results shooting steel?

You can’t correct on paper unless you are using pits and spotter discs.

You are shooting the same, just the results tend to be truer, if you do not have a spotter in the pits to help correct.

Reactions: tnichols and AIAW
Have better luck shooting targets at longer range (600 yds) by centering (bracketing?) them in reticle at lower power (relatively) . Not real fond of shooting dots on paper at longer ranges at the higher powers (above 12x) .