• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Stock bedding question, hopefully I'm in the correct forum.

apf383

Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 8, 2013
I'm new to the bolt action platform and have a quick question concerning bedding a stock for my Rem 700 AAC-SD. A friend of mine has stock that was originally bedded for the Surgeon action, but said it's easy to re-bed for my S/A Rem. I don't recall of it's a McMillan or Manners, but I'm almost certain it's one of those. Is this true, and how involved is it? I don't mind doing the work, but don't want to waste money/time doing this when I'd be better off just buying the "correct" model for my action. Thanks, from the newbie.

Last edited:
You can spend a couple hours with a Dremel or sand paper removing the bedding...and then re-bed it. So, it's possible to do if you're wondering. If you're a newbie......I'd send the stock and barreled action off to have it professionally done and you won't regret it...

Thanks for the quick reply thrusty, so if I can get it for a good number, then I will go forward knowing that I have a further investment having the work done. I just dont want to got to the point where I would have been better off just buying the proper stock. Thanks.

Thanks for the link. I'm a pretty handy guy, and have been working on firearms and automobies my whole life, so I'm pretty mechanically inclined. We will see.