• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

6.5 Grendel precision bolt gun?

macab0ne

Private
Minuteman
Feb 24, 2014
central NY
I have been reading up on different rounds and what the pros and cons of them are and what they are capable of. I was wondering why there are not more 6.5 Grendel precision bolt rifles out there? Reading about this round it seems like it has a lot going for it, specially in a shorter barreled rifle the difference between the Grendel and other 6.5 rounds like the creedmoore and lapua 47 seem to be greatly diminished. Being new to long range shooting I have little real experience with any of these rounds but was hoping someone who does could tell of their experiences.

Chris

Why? quite obvious. The Grendel was designed around the limitations of the ar15. In a bolt gun the sky is the limit. 6.5 creed, 6.5x47 lapua, .260 rem can push the heavier better BC pills. The Grendel is limited to 120class and under.

also the Grendel has a somewhat oddball bolt face...same as 6PPC/22PPC/220 Russian

Get it in an AR. It will reach out to 1200 yards no problem. It will shoot the larger pills... just better out of a bolt gun so you can increase the OAL.. since you are not limited to the mag length

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Get it in an AR. It will reach out to 1200 yards no problem. It will shoot the larger pills... just better out of a bolt gun so you can increase the OAL.. since you are not limited to the mag length

No...there is not enough case capacity to make shooting heavier projectiles worth it.

Isn't the barrel life much better with the Grendel than the others? If it is you can keep your big pills.