• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Good Calipers?

Victor Co Heather

Victor Company USA
Commercial Supporter
Minuteman
Aug 19, 2006
SOCAL USA
www.victorcompanyusa.com
I've been using a $20 pair of Lyman calipers for a few years now and finally broke down to buy a decent set.

With a little (very little) research, I found Mitutoyo brand seemed to be one of the best. A friend directed me to McMaster-Carr and I got to say THAT PLACE IS AMAZING! A Fing wet dream of mechanical tools and such.

I picked up a set of heavy duty, solar powered calipers that go to ten thousandths. Pretty sweet yeah? Cost about 200 clams. I'm pretty happy so far.

http://www.mcmaster.com/#calipers/=8cj750

Calipers.jpg

Re: Good Calipers?

Mitutoyos are the best when it comes to digital. I like Browne and Sharp or Starrett for dial calipers. You picked well.

Josh

All of the calipers we use in the machine shop I work in are either Mitutoyo or Starrett. For my home use I have Starretts. I like both but you cant really go wrong with either one.

Mitutoyo are the only calipers that we use at the plant. They hold up well and are accurate.
Does it have a battery backup, we have a set at work that were solar and in dim light they crapped out a couple times.
For the bench I like my good ole Sterrett's

now check the price of that at msc direct and then enco. i bet you get it for quite a bit cheaper.

mcmaster carr is great because they have everything. msc direct has just about everything, have 40% off sales now and then, next day ups shipping and a kick-ass "big book". enco has quite a bit of tooling also and cheaper regular prices and lots of sales.