• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Any opinions on these 3 rifles?

Wilsun

Private
Minuteman
Jan 2, 2010
Lincoln, Nebraska
I'm getting close to buying my first target rifle (.308).

I'm looking at the following three rifles:

1) Savage Model 12 F/TR MSRP $1,302

2) Remington Model 700 Target Tactical MSRP $1,972

3) Cooper Varmit MSRP $1,595

Personally, I'm most excited about the Remington.

I'm new to target shooting. The property I shoot at limits my range to 300 yards.

Any other suggestions are also appreciated. I don't want to spend the money on a custom gun. I don't plan on shooting in any competitions; this is just for fun.

Thank you.

Re: Any opinions on these 3 rifles?

If I had to pick from those three I'd pick the 700, but I'm biased because I shoot and love 700s. While the 700 target tactical does look sweet and probably shoots great, it seems like a lot of money for anything coming from remington. First off, make sure your going to have enough cash left over for glass. There no sense spending $2k on a rifle if your only going to put a $200 scope on it. It wont shoot like a $2000 rifle, it will shoot like a $200 scope.

That said, if you dont want to build a custom rifle, but you want the tactical style rifle (like the 700 your looking at) you might want to look at the FN-SPR series and the Tikka T3 tactical. Both look great, are under the price point of the remington, and both will shoot great out of the box. Another option, and probably your best one for getting the most rifle for your money, is to watch the for sale ads here in the forums. Good luck and happy shooting!

I wish I was starting out with those kind of options.