• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

extreme precise powder measurement worth the cost?

tolnep

Private
Minuteman
Oct 30, 2011
i will be reloading for a remington 5r 700 308 24 inch barrel.

im new to reloading. but my work demands very complex and precise attention to detail so im used to complex operations taken with great care.

current reloading equipment consists of forster co-ax, redding competition die set, wilson micromenter case trimmer, bullet ogive comparator, headspace measurement gauge, fairly high end digital micrometer, rcbs chargemaster 1500 (just the scale) rcbs powder thrower to underthrow the starting powder charge. and a double beam pharmacy scale i've had for a number of years (obtained from a family owned drugstore years ago).

so after scanning the threads here there seems to be a group of folks that use very expensive weighing equipment. not just the prometheus which is both expensive and precise but also 'fast', but very precise digital scales costing over $1000 (sartorius types).

and my question is, is the extreme accuracy worth the money? for non benchrest shooters anyway. BTW, the prometheus is nice but at 3000 and a wait that one not something i would consider.

note that the pharmacy scale, while precise up to a point and a great way to compare against the chargemaster, is no where near the accuracy of the current lab units some folks are using.

as an aside, after doing 100 cases with the wilson hand cranked micrometer trimmer, which does a great job and then coming back to chamfer, my next big purchase is going to be a giraud..

Re: extreme precise powder measurement worth the cost?