• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Best $700-$800 AR or AR setup

tburde_cpec

Private
Minuteman
May 11, 2013
Michigan is home.
Gents,

I have a cousin wanting to get his first AR. His budged is only in the $700-$800 range (as per the boss "wife") I told him save a few hundred more and pick up a Colt 6920LE or S. Money isn't the issue wife is. He wants to take it down to the CMP and National Matches (Service rifle). So 1 in 7 barrel, no front flip up sights, quad rails etc.

I have had the pleasure of owning my first 6920 since the early 2000's....I added a free float tube, and a trigger and haven't given it a second thought since. I have no experience with the newer, cheaper ARs out there and I am wondering what your thoughts are on the more inexpensive types. I have heard good things about the Stag Model 2. Other option might be to have him pick up the parts and we can put it together. Thanks in advance.

OP,